a zine project

final drafts…(x3)

1) I made a few adjustments where needed. I only have one more edit and now that school is out, Natalya cannot escape–yep, it is the Editor-in-Chief’s poem that needs a final touch.

2) I have been deliberating over a post I’ve started a few times. It is about tough topics and when to discuss them with our young. It would be an opinion piece, especially as I have no training on the matter. (I should find someone to interview.) Really, the draft has quickly turned into a personal conversation, and a bit of a translation of conversations I’ve had with both Sean and the daughter. I am worried about what we are saying when we say nothing at all–kind of a perversion of that Alison Krauss song where she rather famously sings: “You say it best when you say nothing at all.” I worry about how all that feeds into the overwhelming obstacles for trafficking survivors that are distrust, fear, shame, and feelings of isolation. I worry. and the tension in my shoulders do not thank me for it. Maybe we will see a more finalized draft of my exploratory scribblings here soon as well.

3) N and I invented this game yesterday. It was her idea, so sometimes boredom does lead to good invention instead of her sulking and my resorting to “you could always clean your room.” We may or may not have the rules down. After three rounds, we may need more. It is a writing game (yes, we are dorks that way). A flash fiction kind of devisement. Taking 4 of the many board games we own, we cobbled together the challenge: to use certain words, subject and story parameters, and a letter. You’ve ten minutes to write. To accrue points you meet the requirements, use the letter, and be the most entertaining. I’m arguing that points go to the one to finish first–we’ve yet to agree on that point. I’m thinking, too, that I am at a disadvantage having to hand-write the stories (no matter how short). N smirks because she still writes both by hand and key.

{image: The Spaces in Between by Kecky}

Comments on: "final drafts…(x3)" (1)

  1. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.

    I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if
    you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

